If you missed the Nigerian Writers Award, this is for you.


In its second edition already, The Nigerian Writers Award held February 19, 2017 at Ace Olivia Lagos City Mall Onikan Lagos.

Although The Sparkle Writers Hub was not there to cover the event, we have all the scoop about what happened and who won what. You should know by know that we love writing and everything that has to do with it.

This year’s event was tagged ‘Unity in Diversity’ and was attended by notable dignitaries like Senator Olajumoke Jamiu Abiola, ( Late MKO Abiola’s son) Esther Ijewere Social Activist and initiator, Women of Rubies, Ibitola Ojoye Adebayo, award winning writer and a host of others.

Apart from the beautiful performances and inspiring talks, the Nigerian Writers TV/ Magazine was launched. We can’t wait to see the amazing things that will be done through this platform.

One of the highlights of the event was the presentation of special recognition award to Dr. Mrs Margaret Ibru; Esther Ijewere, Social Activist/Initiator, Women of Rubies and Ibitola Ojoye-Adebayo.

Here’s the list if the award winners and beautiful pictures from the event.


Business writer of the year

Femi Asu (Punch newspaper)

Sports writer of the year

Shina Oludare Charles (goal.com)

Feature writer of the year

Kemi Busari (Nigerian bulletin)

Entertainment writer of the year

Alli Mutiat Omoniyi (Daily Trust)

Campus writer of the year

Ezekiel Efeobhokhan (Campus life, The Nation)

Fashion blogger of the year

Adedayo Olubunmi Odubanjo


Entertainment blogger of the year

Laila Ijeoma


Supportive blogger of the year


Literary blogger of the year

Ainehi Edoro


Promising literary blogger of the year

Obianuju Ijekpa


Romance writer of the year

Ufuoma Otebele


Health writer of the year

Toluse Francis

Fiction writer of the year

Sally Kenneth Dadzie


Non-fiction writer of the year

Nnaemeka Nwankwo Okere

Poetry writer of the year

Tolu Akinyemi – Poet Olu

Spoken word poet of the year

Olayinka Samson Aremu


Poetry promoter of the year

Eriata Oribhabor

(poets in nigeria)

Diaspora writer of the year

Mac Kelly Obison

Motivational writer of the year

Okechukwu Ofili

 (ofili speaks)

Faith-based writer of the year

Sinmisola Ogúnyinka

Comic writer of the year

Simisola Opeodu

 (blacksmith chronicles)

Teenage writer of the year

Irianele Virtuous Oselumese



Young writer of the year

Quadri Zaynab (pulse.ng)

Historical book of the year

The president who never ruled

 (Jamiu Abiola)

Advocacy book of the year

S is for survivor “sickle cell”

(Samira Haruna Sanusi)

Writers’ most supportive brand of the year

Etisalat Nigeria

 Media house of the year (print)

 The Nation newspaper

Media house of the year (TV)

 Channels TV

Media house of the year (radio)

Metro FM

Script writer of the year

Funke Akindele (Jenifa)

Writer of the year

Seun Akioye

We can’t wait for the next edition of the event.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. ( Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. ( Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. ( Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. ( Log Out / Change )


Connecting to %s